North Dakota Bankers Association - link home

About Us Government Relations and Legal Education Business Partners Communications


About NDBA

NDBA History

The North Dakota Bankers Association was founded in 1884 as the Dakota Bankers Association under the leadership of E.P. Wells. The association was formed by 18 banks, whose members chose to gather with fellow bankers for the mutual welfare of their banks and to promote the interests of the Dakota Territory. This is believed to be the first state bankers association in the United States.

The first convention was held May 1885. At the meeting, representatives of 18 banks came from different parts of the Dakota Territory and were enrolled as the original membership of the Dakota Bankers Association, numbering 82. When statehood for the Dakota Territory came in 1889 and the latitudinal line was drawn to create two new states, the North Dakota and South Dakota Bankers Associations were formed out of the territorial association.

The North Dakota Bankers Association is headquartered at 122 E Main Avenue, Suite 201 in Bismarck.

Members Only
Calendar of Events

ND Banks Benefit Trust

Office Depot

2019 HSA Spring Workshop

2019 IRA Spring Seminars