North Dakota Bankers Association - link home

About Us Government Relations and Legal Education Business Partners Communications



Senate Confirms FDIC, OCC Nominations

Posted on 3/30/2012

The Senate yesterday confirmed, by unanimous consent, three members to the FDIC Board -- Martin Gruenberg, Thomas Hoenig and Jeremiah Norton -- as well as Thomas Curry to be Comptroller of the Currency. While the action fills all the positions on the FDIC board, the Senate did not confirm Gruenberg and Hoenig as chair and vice chair, respectively, of the agency. Gruenberg therefore will continue to serve as acting chairman.

The Senate Banking Committee earlier in the day had approved Norton's nomination, along with the nominations of Jerome Powell and Jeremy Stein to be members of the Federal Reserve Board of Governors. The Fed nominees were not confirmed by the full Senate, however, because two senators had registered objections.

The panel also approved -- and the Senate confirmed -- Christy Romero to be special inspector general for the Troubled Asset Relief Program.

Members Only
Calendar of Events

ND Banks Benefit Trust

Office Depot

2019 Bankers Day at the Capitol

2019 Bank Management Conference