North Dakota Bankers Association - link home

About Us Government Relations and Legal Education Business Partners Communications



North Dakota Election Results

Posted on 11/6/2012

Kevin Cramer (R) won the U.S. House seat with 54.89% of the vote.
Heidi Heitkamp (D) defeated Rick Berg (R) for the U.S. Senate seat with 50.24% of the vote.

Governor Jack Dalrymple (R) was elected to his first full four-year term as governor, after serving as Lieutenant governor under then-Governor John Hoeven for a decade and filling the seat when Hoeven was elected to the U.S. Senate in 2010.

Adam Hamm (R) was re-elected Insurance Commissioner.
Bob Peterson (R) was re-elected Auditor.
Kelly Schmidt (R) was re-elected Treasurer.
Randy Christmann (R) was elected to the Public Service Commission.
Kirsten Baesler (R) was elected as Superintendent of Public Instruction.

Republicans expanded their super majority in the House by picking up two seats, and will have a (71-23) majority.
Republicans lost two seats in the Senate, but maintained their super majority (33-14).

Ballot Issues:
Measure 1 (elimination of poll tax) passed.
Measure 2 (oaths of office) passed.
Measure 3 (farming and ranching practices) passed.
Measure 4 (prohibiting smoking) passed with more than 66%.
Measure 5 (animal cruelty) was defeated with more than 65% voting no.

To view North Dakota election results visit:

Members Only
Calendar of Events

ND Banks Benefit Trust

Office Depot

2019 Bankers Day at the Capitol

2019 Bank Management Conference